1. These forums are archived and available in read-only format. No new accounts may be created and content may not be added or edited. This archive is dedicated to hoshiwara.t who tragically passed away in April of 2015. She will be forever missed.

Universal Translators/language

Discussion in 'Unofficial Lore Discussion' started by Haplap, Mar 6, 2016.

Tags:
?

Translators?

1. Yes!

2. No!

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Haplap

Haplap Happypaps

Many of the older players who i've interacted with all seem to have something in common; they all seem to use a sort of translation device. The translators are capable of translating the native languages of every race, and are small enough to fit right into your ear. At one point, I believe it was standard that every character in the server had a translator. However, seeing as I have very little experience with these translators, I may be incorrect or too vague about them. Hopefully one of the oldies who know about these can help out with the specifics, but I digress. The real topic to be discussed here is, do we want to use universal translators or not?

Personally, I feel like translators are a lazy solution to a problem and that they also kill the element of language. With translators, everyone can understand you no matter what, meaning no private conversations using other languages. It also means that characters who may struggle with speech or language simply can't exist, and I don't like limiting options in that way. One solution I can offer is a common language, but that comes with so many problems of its own as well. For one, people have to learn a whole new language just to be able to interact with others.

So, should we use translators? If so, where are people getting them? Can people afford them?