1. These forums are archived and available in read-only format. No new accounts may be created and content may not be added or edited. This archive is dedicated to hoshiwara.t who tragically passed away in April of 2015. She will be forever missed.

Questions about making a new character (new player)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Strus, Oct 15, 2016.

1. Strus

Strus New Member

Hey everyone,

I am new to Antares, new to Starbound (started with 1.1, have over 100 hours single-player) , and new to Starbound RP. As excited as I am to get my feet wet with Starbound RP, I have a few questions that I am hoping the community can answer, most of which is regarding 1.1 content. I hope that this thread may also help serve those who are newer to Starbound looking to come to this server!

It is my understanding that this server is supposed to take a more "realistic" interpretation of Starbound. However, for those of us who have not played before 1.1 may have some misconceptions which may need to be cleared up a bit. I am looking for a general consensus among Antares to help answer some of these questions:

1. Mana manipulators - how common/uncommon are they? Are they racial specific or general tools of all races? Have certain races modified them in different ways than others? What is the community's general view on them?

2. The Protectorate - I have scoured a decent amount of Antares lore and I am not 100% whether they exist/do not exist. I don't really care about whether they are in the lore or not, I just want to know. I don't see why they couldn't exist, but from what I have read thus far on Antares, Starbound 1.1 canon seems to conflict a bit with RP that has already happened here.

3. The Arc - what is Antares' view of The Arc? Is it a place of which we do not speak or does it exist in Antares to some degree?

4. "The Ruin" tentacle race - do they exist/not-exist?